You Won’t Wish You Were Here

May 15, 2010 at 10:00 pm 6 comments


Ever had one of those moments you wish you could rewind and go back to before it ever happened and do the one crucial thing that didn’t happen in the first place to prevent it from actually happening?

I had one of those this morning.

Mr. Cookie and I have a routine on some Saturdays where we end up at the beach the very first thing in the morning. It’s a nice way to start the day — especially for people like me who (for the past several months) simply cannot sleep.

It’s relaxing.

Well, usually it’s relaxing.

This time it wasn’t.

This time I saw two people die at the beach.

An older couple – Barbara Agelatos, 57, and Denis Agelatos, 70 – from Albany, Georgia drowned in an unguarded area of a local public beach — caught in rough surf and dangerous rip currents they couldn’t escape.

It’s just a sobering thing to witness – even from too far away to really know what’s happening … but let’s be honest, you know what’s happening.

I wish I could go back to the moments just before they walked into that water. I wish I could have been there to caution them against wading into that water. I wish anyone had.

I keep thinking about the Agelatos in that water together. In trouble in that water together. Trying to help each other out of trouble in that water. And knowing that water was winning.

I keep thinking about their family and hoping they are able to find some peace in this saddest of situations … but let’s be honest, they probably won’t for some time yet.

I think about the two men who worked tirelessly to help them until more help and the police and paramedics arrived … and I hope those two men know how amazing they are for doing all they could just in an impossible situation.

I think that’s all I have for today …

Entry filed under: blogging, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Apparently, I don’t heart me This is some Cirque du Soleil shit!

6 Comments

  • 1. Ric  |  May 15, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    …and I have no smart ass remarks today.

  • 2. thecookie  |  May 16, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    me either …

  • 3. J  |  May 17, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Dear blogger
    I understand just how you feel. I too saw what happened that morning on that beach. It was a beautiful sat morning sitting on the balcony of our hotel watching the water drinking coffee and watching our children play below in the sand. On a mini vaca with some friends I never dreamed that what I was about to wittness would move to the core. As I sat there holding my freinds baby rocking him we wacthed in amazment as someone entered the rough waters of the Atlantic. Brave we thought it being so early,windy,and rough. Brave huh? How ironic. I made some smart comment like its not our kids is it? Knowing it wasnt we watched off and on talking and paying little mind. My girlfriend said are they ok? Are they ok? It doesnt look like they are ok! I stood with the baby FROZEN! My husband ran down to the beach in their direction. I watched as they pulled their limp bodies out of the water and start CPR. Still FROZEN. I watched for forever it seemed as they worked and worked to get a response, I watched as my husband stood close by in horror and pure shock of what he was seeing close up. I watched until EMS covered them up and took them away.
    I wondered as I watched as the day go on and more people swam and went on with life who was getting the call? Whos mother and father it was? Who grandparents? Whos sister? whos brother? What did they do together that morning?
    What went through their heads when they realized the tides and waters would win?
    How were the men who pulled them put and did CPR and what were they feeling?
    And then I tried to find the beauty in them leaving this world together, and how they never had to live one min without the other.
    I thought about the what if’s too. If i had put the baby down and ran to help. If we have not taken it so lightly them going in.
    I know it brought so much awreness to us and our kids being by the water. It brought forth the URGENCY of life and how we dont own tommarrow only right now. How am I being with my spouse my friends my family my kids. Do they know I love them do they know if we never speak agian what they meant to me. My heart goes out to you and yours and to the Angeletos. And to anyone to helped or wittnessed that morning. LIFE IS SO URGENT!!

  • 4. thecookie  |  May 17, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    Oh J — you are so right!
    And this:
    “And then I tried to find the beauty in them leaving this world together, and how they never had to live one min without the other.” — I never thought of it that way but if there may be one thing at all, even in the smallest way, to take as a positive – maybe it is that.

    thank you SO MUCH for writing!!!

    • 5. writechic  |  May 18, 2010 at 10:33 pm

      Sorry, cookie. 😦

      I saw a boy drown last year at the beach. Saw off-duty firefighters run do CPR. Saw the mom pounding the sand, yelling why! Her child was with an adult, the currents were just really bad.

  • 6. thecookie  |  May 19, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    You just can’t be too careful with rip currents – it’s so true.


This is the shit you bitches are reading


Creative Commons License
Lifeisacookie is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 United States License.


