R.I.P City Stages

June 26, 2009 at 12:34 pm 4 comments


What a week, eh?

Ed McMahon. Farrah Fawcett. Michael Jackson. City Stages.

City what?


City Stages – ‘The best music festival you’ve never heard of’ if you’re not from ’round here, according to a Chicago Sun Times review.
‘Here’ being parts near or around Birmingham, Alabama.

The three-day, family-friendly, arts and music festival  run by the Birmingham Cultural and Heritage Foundation showcased the last of all performances for, like, ever this year after a more than two decade long run.
::: sadness :::

The event is credited with helping transform Birmingham’s downtown area from blight to bright – re-establishing it as a great place to eat, shop, work and – well, just be.

But dumbass scheduling mistakes around 2001 (move it to grainy rainy May — how’d THAT work out?!?) saddled the hugely popular (and previously rapidly expanding) festival with mounting debt – forcing organizers to scale it down to keep it going. And it did … until this year.

Carrying a debt of more than $1 million, City Stages’ president – George McMillan – said this week that his show, well, won’t go on. 

SOURCE


DAMN THIS FUCKING WEEK!
::: Must regroup :::

KITTENSPUPPIESCOTTONCANDY KITTENSPUPPIESCOTTONCANDY 
KITTENSPUPPIESCOTTONCANDY KITTENSPUPPIESCOTTONCANDY
::: deep, cleansing breaths … :::

I close my eyes. I sail down a glorious rainbow of shimmery, shiny happiness. Wheeeee!!!!!!!!! I land on a cotton-candy puff in a land where I can sleep ’till noon on a weekday and my wine glass is never empty …. Ahhhhhhh

Entry filed under: advertising, blogging, celebrity, community, culture, entertainment, Gossip, life, media, Music, neighborhood, reporting, unbelievable, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Number Three??? AWESOMENESS!!!!

4 Comments

  • 1. springdaddy  |  June 26, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Please give me directions to this happy place. I would like to arrive soon and enjoy too. Otherwise I’ll be in my garage fiddle farting around with those things which make me happy there.

    Have a good weekend 😉

  • 2. writechicpress  |  June 27, 2009 at 1:20 am

    Mmmm, cotton candy.

  • 3. Singer's Spotlight  |  June 27, 2009 at 11:30 am

    I love a great music festival. The Kauai music festival will be at the ending of July.

  • 4. lifeisacookie  |  June 27, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    I thought I found that happy place earlier — but then the alarm went off 😉


This is the shit you bitches are reading


Creative Commons License
Lifeisacookie is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 United States License.


