CNN tackles the tough stuff

April 7, 2009 at 5:59 pm 3 comments


What with all of the economic uncertainty, security concerns and general depravity everywhere, I take great comfort in the knowlege that I can count on CNN to bring me the really big news.

Like today’s ‘Twelve Amusing Excuses For Being Late For Work‘ … awesome market downturn, massive layoff reading there.
Because it’s just common knowledge that the absolute first thing on the mind of someone suffering job-loss jitters is where to find new and creative ways to endanger their employability.
::: CNN’s got yer back, dawg! :::

“While some employers tend to be more lenient with worker punctuality, 30% say they have terminated an employee for being late,” CareerBuilder.com‘s VP of HR said.

You guys got that?
Career Pro Tip: Being late for work can get you fired.

WOW!!

I mean, you just don’t get that kind of top-secret insider info any old place!
::: CNN and CareerBuilder totally  us! :::

According to a February survey of more than 8,000 workers all the goldbrickers still employed in America, 20% said they arrive late to work at least once a week and 12% said they are late at least twice a week.

And just what’s keeping Tammy Timeclock from promptly punching in?

Why, Amusing Excuse #2, of course!
“My husband thinks it’s funny to hide my car keys before he goes to work.”
::: So even if yours puts the Dick in Dickens, don’t use that one ladies– it’s TAKEN! :::

Now me? I like #4: “I got locked in my trunk by my son.”
Because any brat who can put a ‘rent in the box has earned his Bitchin’ Bastard badge in my view!

Oh, but I know, I know — the point is not to BE late … if you can help it … provided the Dunkin’ Donuts latte line isn’t too long …. and that morning-after hangover helper is working …

“To be on the safe side, try your best to be on time for work every day,” the job gurus advise. “Your boss, co-workers and reputation will thank you for it.”

GOTCHA!!

THANK YOU CNN AND CAREERBUILDER!!!!!

I feel more productive alrea … ooo someone brought cake!

Entry filed under: blogging, comedy, community, culture, education, entertainment, fun, funny, Gossip, humor, journalism, life, media, News, odd, reporting, TV, unbelievable, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

The view from the cheap(est) seats Whatever gets you through …

3 Comments

  • 1. CNN tackles the tough stuff  |  April 7, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    […] Original post by lifeisacookie […]

  • 2. writechicpress  |  April 9, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    I mean it’s like my IQ skyrocketed into the triple digits after learning all this. Indeed, a big ol’ thanks to CNN.

  • 3. lifeisacookie  |  April 9, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    I think their new slogan should be CNN On Your Side (they could market the shit out of that!)


This is the shit you bitches are reading


Creative Commons License
Lifeisacookie is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 United States License.


