Too close for comfort

December 29, 2008 at 3:40 pm 7 comments


The fine folks of Pennsylvania had themselves more than just a holiday this weekend — they got their shake-shake on with a real-life earthquake!!
::: YAY!!! Tectonic activit-ay!!! :::

The 3.3 magnitude quake, which was centered in the Salunga-Landisville area of Lancaster County, was also felt as far away as Philadelphia and Baltimore …
… which means it was felt at Three Mile Island, too!!
::: WOO HOO!!! Three Mile Isla … wait. What?!? :::

3mileislandPartial core meltdown Three Mile Island?
::: I feel the earth move … :::

Full emergency evacuation Three Mile Island?!?
::: under my feet … :::

The most significant accident in the history of the American commercial nuclear power generating industry Three Mile Island?!?!?
::: I feel the sky tumbling down … :::

“We consider this a very minor event, something local,” said Dale Grant, a geophysicist at the USGS’s 24-hour earthquake monitoring office in Golden, Colo.

3mileisland1Oh, whew then … right?

‘Cuz I bet the unexpected and violent movement of the Earth’s crust close enough to be considered pretty much directly beneath the site of one of the worst radiationally enhanced accidents in US history looks MUCH better from about six states away.

Yup! I’m sure it’s all good.

I bet this sort of thing just goes along with the territory if you live in the general vicinity of deformed deer, damaged daisies, curious cases of cancer and decades-long situations of shit going 20 kinds of dead dead dead for which you have zero explanation other than the reassuring government reports of ‘ain’t nothin’ wrong here!!’

YUP! Nuuuuuthing to worry about Pennsylvanians!
Go on about your day …

Entry filed under: Baltimore, blogging, community, culture, education, family, Gossip, government, health, journalism, life, media, neighborhood, News, newspapers, science, unbelievable, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Cinemania Here we go again …

7 Comments

  • 1. writechicpress  |  December 29, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Dang. I was totally there Saturday. Luckily I was in the car driving by on my way to the Harrisburg Airport. It’s kind of a creepy thing to look at. I remember when that was THE news story.

  • 2. this buddy of mine  |  December 30, 2008 at 3:18 am

    Nuclear and Amish are rarely used in the same sentence…I but the buggies were a-buzzing

  • 3. lifeisacookie  |  December 30, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Did you feel it Writechic?? I wonder what driving in an earthquake would be like … probably not good (just a thought) …

    buzzing buggies … hehe

  • 4. writechicpress  |  December 30, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    I lived on the AZ/CA border where there are earthquakes a couple times a week. Never felt one driving. Weirdly, earthquakes nauseate the @#$% out of me–and that didn’t happen in PA.

    Oh, and let me just say for the record, the Amish dudes are not hot. Ok, maybe radiation wise they are, but aesthetically, nuh-uh. They are fast in those carriages though. I could never get the camera out quickly enough. And it mortified my maw-in-law that I treated them as a Pennsylvania carnival side show.

  • 5. this buddy of mine  |  December 30, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    Amish chicks are hot…just watching them churn butter gets me going

  • 6. writechicpress  |  December 30, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    The Amish dude beard thing is so 1890’s. They grow out shaped like trapezoids. WTF?

  • 7. lifeisacookie  |  December 30, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    I bet they’re hiding electronics in them — CHEATERS!


This is the shit you bitches are reading


Creative Commons License
Lifeisacookie is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 United States License.


