Apparently, I don’t heart me

May 13, 2010 at 11:14 am 4 comments


I work.
I work a lot.
And (like it’s a big secret here at LIAC?!) lately I am working more than ever.

I say I don’t mind.
It’s project-related.
It’s not long-term.

But I kind of mind.
And Mr. Cookie REALLY minds.

For all of the good reasons you’re already thinking.

Plus one.

According to a new study, I’m screwed.

See, a bunch of big brains over at the Finnish Institute of Occupational Health and University College London pooled their gray matter to do some serious CSI-type researchification on the long-term damage being overworked can do.

It was no great revelation that being overworked is bad for you.
That’s the kind of 2+2 shit I can work out in my own head.

What was just the teensiest smidge of uh oh was reading that people (like me) who work more than 10 hours a day (HAHAHAHA – only TEN? Fucking lightweights!) are about 60% more likely to develop heart disease or have a heart attack than people who clock just seven hours a day.

60%.
I am so screwed!

The study followed more than 6,000 British civil servants with no history of heart disease for an average of 11 years.
During the study, a total of 369 people had heart attacks (some of them fatal) or were diagnosed with heart disease after seeking medical attention for chest pain.

I AM SO FUCKING SCREWED!!

Fuckitalltohellandbacknow I need a drink … and I’d HAVE one too … if I wasn’t at work …

SOURCE

Entry filed under: blogging, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Right Said … SAHAR! You Won’t Wish You Were Here

4 Comments

  • 1. Ric  |  May 13, 2010 at 11:25 am

    But Cookie, if you love what you do you can do as much of it as you want and if it kills you, you’ll die happy, no doubt with drink in hand.

    On the other hand, if you don’t love what you do, you can do a little of it and die miserable, with a cheap drink in hand.

    There’s a third alternative, but it involves boredom, and you’re not boring.

    Have a drink, kiddo! For the good times! Bottoms up!

  • 2. writechic  |  May 13, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Back to work! Pccchhht!

  • 3. Ric  |  May 13, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    “Pccchhht!”??

    What’s Pccchhht!?

    It’s not ‘pfft’. Is it something whippy?

    • 4. writechic  |  May 13, 2010 at 3:43 pm

      Totally whippy. :-D


This is the shit you bitches are reading

Get Your Cookie On!

Feed The Cookie! Support This Site

del.icio.us Cookie

Life Is A Cookie on Facebook

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

